Who am I?

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Creating jewelry is a hobby for me. I work full time in science and use my crafting as a creative escape and way to unwind in the evenings. I’m 29 and married with 3 furbabies. (see photo of my cute little mutts and cat).

I just finished my Master’s in Public Health with a concentration in Health Behaviors related to Physical Activity and Prevention of Obesity.

What is the first craft project you remember making?

The first project I can remember making was probably noodle necklaces in Girl Scouts. I remember using markers to color dried noodles and stringing them up then taking the awesome necklace to my mother. Haha.

As I grew older, the crafting evolved to friendship bracelets made of embroidery thread and then beaded jewelry.

In college I learned to crochet and knit and still enjoy those hobbies as well.

Apart from creating things, what do you do? / Is creating art your full-time job, or do you work outside of creating these magnificent items?

Creating jewelry is a hobby for me. Like I mentioned early, I work full time in science.

This photo is of me presenting the lab’s work at a conference.

Also, I’m quite active so I like to cycle and run. My husband and I are almost always training for something related to fitness.

What handmade possession do you most cherish?

I have a quilted bear that was my grandmother’s. She died when I was 12 and my grandfather gave me the bear a few years ago before he died back in 2010.

If you could give one piece of advice to a new etsy seller, what would it be?

Focus on good photography! It’s crucial. And try to list often since that keeps you in recently listed items.

What are some of the ways you promote your work?

I have a facebook page where I give special discounts. http://www.facebook.com/biddysbeads

I also have the blog here that you’re reading. https://biddysbeads.wordpress.com

I use twitter (biddysbeads) and pinterest (Sarah Abshire) as well.

I also sell live at festivals and the Downtown Lexington Artist Market.

Sky view from the Artist Market…my booth is the one off by itself to the right of the heart flower bed along the sidewalk.

How did you come up with the name you sell under (i.e. shop name)?

My husband used to teasingly call me an “ole biddy” when I was knitting or beading because of the reputation of crafting and old women. Now he just calls me that because it’s my nickname from him. So when I was searching for a name for my shop, he said “Biddy’s Beads” and then name stuck.

What are some of the things you do when you face a creative block?

I like to read. Also, I have several crafty hobbies so if I’m creatively stumped on jewelry making, I just knit or something. My husband and I also bike a lot. It clears my mind. I love bikign through the backroads and horse farms here in Lexington.

When is your favorite, most productive and creative time? Day, night?

Because I work during the day, I generally create in the evenings. So I’m not sure when my most creative time is…but I would think mornings since that’s generally my most productive time otherwise.

If you could have one super power, what would it be and why?

I would be able to fly super fast without dealing with an airport and stuff! I mean it’d be so nice to fly home to VA or a friend far away to see my family and fly back quick.

If you had only six months left to live, what would you do with the time?

Spend time with my husband, pets, family and friends…and travel. There’s lots of places I’d want to go before I died. Also, I’d volunteer and help other people and animals a lot more since working wouldn’t be on my list of things to do. I’d want to go out of this world remembered for having a good impact on the world around me.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I’d be more assertive. I’m very introverted and sometimes it’s mistaken for weakness. However, I’m usually just taking everything in. Sometimes it’d be nice to be a little more outgoing and assertive though. It’s easy to be taken advantage of when you’re quiet and easy going.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

